Today’s coffee – Commenting on Other’s Comments

My sister has encouraged me to continue the cup of tea blogs.  You know, the ones I write randomly first thing in the morning as I enjoy my caffeine fix.  I hesitated and told her that not all my just-waking-up thoughts are about women’s rights and right now I feel it’s important to continue spreading that particular message.   I am easily distracted and do not want to deviate onto other topics on my activist radar just yet.  Unfortunately what happens is I’ll start a new project and then my original one does not receive my full attention and it takes longer to accomplish the end-goal.  I don’t want that to happen with my fight for women’s rights.

With the cons well in mind, I thought about the pros to writing no matter what my thoughts.  First, it would keep me in the writing spirit.  Second, it would give the readers a chance to know I have other interests and feel passionately about many social and economic issues.  Third, maybe I’ll think of something funny to say and get a laugh out of you 🙂

Lucky for me (and our fight for women’s rights), this morning’s coffee has found me posting comments on a Huffington Post’s Crime page article about Todd Akin’s remarks.  Since I’ve already written my thoughts for the day in various posts, I’ll copy and paste them for you to enjoy in one place.  This keeps me discussing women’s rights (my current project) and keeps me blogging, so you all have a chance to get to know me better.

Post One: Coffee’s black and needs cream (but since I don’t drink dairy milk, I use vanilla soy)

I started my day on FaceBook as usually, but now I’m a fan of Huffington Post’s Politics page.  I believe their articles are intended to incite reactions.  This morning’s read:

Todd Akins Remarks: The Broader Meaning by law professor, Jay Sterling Silver 

The author parrells Todd Akins remarks to the views of law enforcement and the history of rape crime in the U.S.  I read the article and since there were only 67 comments, I decided to read what others had to say about the anology.  My initial reaction to the article did not make it into my first post (see bottom half of post #2).  I became too irate after reading one commentator’s opinion that I immediately shared it on my FaceBook page as follows:

Lairdwilcox assessed that Todd Akin’s remarks were simply a continuation of the “mind over matter” theory of medicine.  Similar to how cancer patients in therapy may be asked to envision good cells destroying the bad cells, rape victims can shut off their biological clock using imagery.  He concludes that Mr. Akin’s comments have been blown out of proportion because suggestive thought therapy is widely accepted in many medical practices.  Again I say “Really?  Seriously Really?”.  Thankfully someone more eloquent than myself commented on this outrageous analogy with intellect and common sense.  Lilliputian writes that Todd Akin’s comment had nothing to do with “mind over matter” and linking the two has done a grave injustice to the work of healing visualization techniques. I faved this comment and highly recommend everyone reading does the same: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/social/Lilliputian/todd-akins-remarks-the-br_b_1827869_182842819.html

Post 2: Coffee’s cold but further commentators with brains solicit my attention

I continued to read the posts growing fonder by the moment of each person’s openness to share their thoughts and rationally respond to other commentators.  My favorite comment was one of the shortest.  Below is the post and my response:

06:19 AM on 09/01/2012

To trust a woman’s word is the downfall of man. This belief comes straight out of mythology, and it’s not easy to fathom, let alone extract, its subconscious roots.

ME:

Commented 39 minutes ago in Crime
“Now how do we change this subconscious belief? It is everywhere – books, movies, music. To note its existence is the first step, understand its implications the second. How do we as a society take that third step to unravel the bias? I don’t know the answer but I would love to hear if anyone has a starting point.When I read the above article, I thought it had an introduction and a body and a conclusion – there still exists a large amount of insensitivity to violence towards women. But no analysis on how to combat this problem. I don’t think its enough any more to just point out social injustices without either offering an idea to change it or asking others how they might change it. If all we do is read the articles, comment on them and then go about our daily lives, our children will have to encounter the same injustices.  As society shouldn’t we feel an innate pretense to act as our foremothers acted for us?I’ve tried to take some steps myself. I started my first blog (https://findingmyvoicebyerin.wordpress.com/), come up with an initial plan (outlined in blog post 2) and have hopefully inspired others to take action – whatever action that may be.”

Part 3: Coffee’s being reheated and now it’s your turn to comment.  What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

